Why I care

As mentioned previously my own grandparents and my aunt were homeless for a spell when I was still in high school. They had always had an inconsistency to their life. They lived in a bus when I was little, and then bounced from camper trailer to camper trailer as they traveled the United States for work, or for friends and connections. Only once in the 19 years of knowing my grandmother did they have a house for about a year in Encampment, Wyoming. One they rented and before we knew it they were on the road again.

One year something happened, and though they never shared a lot, before we knew it they were living in a small car, three adults, with all their belongings. I will likely never know the whole story, but I do know my grandmother lost most of her foot from frost bite and that she would only live a few more years. Her medical problems began to pile up after the frost bite and before I knew it she had passed away suddenly.

I can’t help but wonder how many stories match theirs among the homeless and poor. In Fort Collins there have been several individuals to have froze to death around town, such as Susan Smith. Due to the extreme climate of Colorado and much of the western United States, these deaths are common. Along with other injuries and issues that come from exposure.

For me, many of the people I have talked to, and for many of the people I know, the causes of becoming homeless are as complicated and varied as there are people. Ultimately though, they are people, deserving of compassion, respect and care.

Leave a comment